Tuesday, October 23, 2007

Gore a Winner Again

Former Vice President Al Gore will receive a second Quill award on Monday at the third annual event that was created to bring glamour and Oscar-style red carpet extravagance to the world of publishing. Nobel Peace Prize winner Gore's "The Assault on Reason" won the Quill award for the history/current affairs/politics category -- the same award he won last year for his book "An Inconvenient Truth."

All 19 winners are in the running for the Quill book of the year award, which is voted online by the public and will be announced at the awards ceremony. Other winners include Cormac McCarthy, who took the general fiction award with his Pulitzer Prize-winning novel "The Road," Walter Isaacson, who won the biography/memoir award for "Einstein: His Life and Universe," and Nora Roberts, who won the romance award for "Angels Fall."

Amy Sedaris won the humor award for "I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence," Diane Setterfield will be awarded the debut author Quill for "The Thirteenth Tale" and Laura Lippman won the mystery/suspense/thriller award for "What the Dead Know."

No comments: